Sunday, 5 April 2009

Mysteries of the Rosary

Each decade of the Rosary is recited in honour of a mystery from the life of Our Lord or of Our Lady. From the 16th century onwards, this was set at three sets of five mysteries showing the Rosary's origin as a way for those who couldn't read or memorise the psalms to imitate the monastic Liturgy of the Hours, which involved praying all 150 psalms daily, by substituting an Our Father or Haily Mary for each psalm.

The Joyful Mysteries (Mondays and Saturdays)

1. The Annunciation (Lk 1:26-38)
2. The Visitation (Lk 1:39-45)
3. The Nativity (Lk 2:1-7)
4. The Presentation in the Temple (Lk 2:22-35)
5. The Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple (Lk 2:41-52)

The Sorrowful Mysteries (Tuesdays and Fridays)
1. The Prayer and Agony in the Garden (Mk 14:32-42)
2. The Scourging at the Pillar (Mt 27:15-26)
3. The Crowning with Thorns (Mt 27:27-31)
4. The Carrying of the Cross (Jn 19:15-17; Lk 23:27-32)
5. The Crucifixion and Death of our Lord (Lk 23:33-38, 44-46)

The Glorious Mysteries (Wednesdays, Sundays)
1. The Resurrection (Mt 28:1-8)
2. The Ascension of Christ into Heaven (Ac 1:6-11)
3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit on the Apostles (Ac 2:1-12)
4. The Assumption (1 Th 4:13-19)
5. The Coronation of the Blessed Virgin Mary (Rev 12:1, 14:1-5, Is 6:1-3)

In 2002, Pope John Paul II added another set of mysteries, the Mysteries of Light:

The Mysteries of Light (Thursdays)

1. The Baptism of the Lord (Mt 3:13-17)
2. The Marriage at Cana (Jn 2:1-2)
3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom and call to conversion (Mk 1:14-15, 2:3-12)
4. The Transfiguration (Lk 9:28-36)
5. The Institution of the Eucharist (Mt 26:26-29)

And as for how to say the Rosary, look here, or it can even be downloaded (not that I've tried).

No comments:

Post a Comment